Showing posts with label Purchase Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Purchase Review. Show all posts

Friday, 10 April 2020

How Things Have changed (And What I've been Buying!) : Isolation and Working From Home With Kids

With the schools closed, working from home and parenting and teaching a 4 and 5 year old, things are a lot different now than they were at the start of the year! If you're coming to my blog just for an escape I apologise for how much this post discusses the impacts of the coronavirus! I am trying to keep it outfit focused and make this my regular break into fashion and frivolity, but the truth is the virus has impacted life so much.

I'm sharing two outfits I wore back when I was working from home while the schools were open, so I did the school run. It was a crazy week with a lot of unknowns in Australia about if and how school would continue, so I wanted to be comfortable and wear things to try cheer me up a little as I worked from home and counted down the hours until I could pick my boys up!

Also thought I'd share with you what I've been buying lately. Definitely no fashion spending - aside from the two things I mentioned in this post - but a lot of things to prepare for home isolation with kids. We are in a new world where I have to ensure my kids are learning at home every day as well as working from home myself 3 days a week. I'm blessed to still have my job, but the juggle is hard!

What I wore:



Tee: Life Church Online "Come change the world with me at Church Online" tee
Skirtthrifted Billabong 'Don't Think Of It' bikini red printed maxi skirt
Shoesslim navy and pink Havaianas
BagBalenciaga first bag in 2006 Blue India

Why I wore it:

For over 9 years now I've been volunteering at Life Church Online. We have a great group in Brisbane that meets up to stream the service together, and every Sunday night I hop online to help at another one of those services. With the news about churches needing to close, and understandably no more Brisbane catch ups, I wanted to wear my Church Online tee. Faith over fear I guess! And a reminder to myself that no matter what is happening in the world, some things like God's love and my regular Sunday online services, stay the same!

Wore my red maxi skirt with this as it was a bit of a cooler day and this felt more comfortable than jeans for working at home during the day. It, along with the turquoise Balenciaga first bag, were easy ways to add more colour to the black and white tee too.


Last worn: red maxi skirt, Balenciaga first bag, Havaianas. First time I've worn the church online tee on the blog.

Other ways to wearred maxi skirt and scarf, Balenciaga first bag and pencil skirt.



What I've Been Buying For Home Isolation:


I've been buying a lot lately. I'm an emotional shopper and while I'm not splurging on fashion items or stockpiling food, I'm thinking about what could be 6 months at home and how we will amuse and teach the kids in these times. We don't often do screen time, just a weekly family movie night and maybe a Daniel Tiger or Bluey episode once during the week, so I have been looking for things other than apps. As a bonus, most of the items I'm sharing are from local Aussie mum owned businesses, so your purchase helps their family as it entertains your own!

Little Birdie Books

Fun book boxes with activity and game ideas (and all the materials you need!) based on the books in the box. You can buy one off book boxes or subscribe to get a steady stream of books and activities. Started by two Aussie mums and speech pathologists, the books and activities are aimed at helping your kids develop essential skills. You can see what I got in a previous box in my YouTube review. I learnt about this company after friending one of the founders on Instagram.

Keeping Kids Busy

This company had been on my radar for a while - a local Aussie mum takes all the guesswork out of travel (or isolation!) by packing a bag filled with activities to keep any age kid entertained. Low mess but high fun bags. My boys got these as bumper "party bags" from my parents after we had to cancel my son's birthday party when the government social distancing restrictions came into place. The things in the bags are still being played with now, just today even. Found this company through a Facebook group, and you can get 15% off this weekend with code EASTER15!

Kids Craft Box

Another Aussie mum owned business, based in WA, who ships a box of crafting materials and activities across the nation, with different themed boxes available. She has special discounts on her Instagram page often, and has a sibling box option to reduce costs which is what I bought for the boys. I "met" this lovely lady through YouTube a couple of years ago.

Messy Play Kits

My kids have been going to these messy play sessions since they were tiny, and now you can order a box of messy play activities to entertain the kids at home! Janelle is a local Aussie mum who is diversifying her business and offering do it yourself packs instead of hosting the big parties she usually does. I'm so glad to have connected with her through playgroup, we have tried a few of her activities we've seen at the sessions at home too over the years!

Activity Books

From anywhere I can find them in stock! Think sticker books, Easter themes, puzzle books and educational workbooks or wipe-clean books. Kmart had a good range but I know stock is really low at the moment.

Printables

There are a few educational sites around with freebies at the moment due to the virus, where you just print the activity pages you think would be helpful for your kids. Some are even created by teachers, for teachers. You could also ask your child's teacher for some ideas if they haven't already provided some. Queensland Education department has a good list of sites too.



There are no affiliate links in these product suggestions and this post was not sponsored in any way. I'm just trying to be supportive and share a list that's useful for a parent if they find that like me, all my time is filled with working, playing with the kids, or worrying about what activities to do with the kids next. I've been visiting fashion blogs less as a result of trying to come up with a learn at home plan for the kids but I'm trying to continue my two posts a week goal here.



Also, if you're an Australian parent, Triple P Parenting (Positive Parenting Program) is now free and has a helpful module, guide and tips for parenting during COVID-19.




What I wore:


TeeLife Church Online "Go online reach the world" graphic tee
Skirt: Jeanswest Luxe jersey maxi skirt
Shoesslim navy and pink Havaianas
BagBalenciaga first bag in 2006 Blue India

Why I wore it:

A very similar outfit to the one above, another Church Online tee with a maxi skirt. I like the "go online, reach the world" message on this one as it's so true! And I'm so glad for the internet at a time like this, and technology to keep in touch with all my family despite the travel restrictions.

Stuck with the same bright Balenciaga first bag as I thought the grey tee and black maxi skirt needed a little extra colour, even with the yellow print on the tee. It was clear this would be my kids last day at school and kindy for a while, so that was bittersweet when I picked them up at the end of my work from home day.

Last worn: black drawstring maxi skirt, Havaianas (above), Balenciaga first bag (above).

Other ways to wearblack drawstring maxi skirt worn two ways, Balenciaga first bag and shorts.




How You can Wear It:

A graphic tee is a simple outfit choice with a maxi skirt - and so incredibly comfortable for working from home, while being presentable enough for any video calls!




It will be a very different Easter break but no matter what you are wearing: stay safe, wash your hands and stay home as much as you can as you watch your church Easter service online.


Linking up with Mutton Style, On Mondays We Link Up, Runway Monday.


Follow Away From the Blue on:
Bloglovin
Twitter : Instagram Youtube : Facebook : LikeToKnow.It 

Friday, 3 January 2020

30 Ways To Wear: Gold Marc By Marc Jacobs Mouse Flats & 2019 Shopping Review, 2020 Budget

For this month's 30 ways to wear post I'm also sharing how my "spend less on fashion" year went in 2019, and my spending goals for 2020!


These little metallic Marc by Marc Jacobs mouse flats definitely deserve their own 30 wears post. It's not a style that's made any more, you can find some on eBay and other resale sites though. I bought them on sale back in 2013 for $166, and they've been worn 92 times since then. (So currently $1.80 per wear). I think I'm definitely getting my money's worth from them! While they are showing a little wear they are still very comfortable and wearable and I expect them to be around for a while yet. Even if they could do with a bit of a polish!


30 ways to wear metallic ballet flats Marc by Marc Jacobs mouse shoes | away from the blue blog


It's such a talking point when people realise I'm wearing little mouse shoes, they are too fun for me to ever think of giving them up, even if they are discontinued and the Marc by Marc Jacobs brand isn't around any more. I like to wear them whenever I know I'll be meeting new people as they are a cute conversation starter. The metallic gold goes with absolutely everything too, I had a hard time putting this 30 wears post together as I wear them with so many colours!

I decided to show you 34 outfits, with different styles of clothing I've worn these flats with rather than focusing on colour combinations to try. I hope it inspires you to try something different with a similar pair of flats you own - I find bold bright shoes tricky to wear but these fun novelty metallic gold ones are very versatile! Much more versatile that you'd expect from a pair of shoes with mouse ears and whiskers!



Marc by Marc Jacobs Mouse Flats with Dresses


Marc by Marc Jacobs Mouse Flats with Dresses 8 ways to wear | away from the blue


Ballet flats and a dress is a staple outfit for a hot day - and add a blazer, a more structured bag maybe, and it's perfect for the office! I had a hard time picking my fave dress and mouse flats outfits to share here as I have worn this outfit combo a lot!


Metallic Gold Ballet Flats with Skirts


Metallic Gold Ballet Flats with Skirts 8 outfit ideas | awayfromblue blog


Of course just as I wear my mouse flats to the office with dresses, I like to wear them with pencil skirts too, another work staple for me! You can match the metallic flats to something else gold in our your outfit, like how I've matched the necklaces or gold hardware on the bags in most of these outfits. They can also be worn on their own, like in the first outfit, where the only gold touch is the ballet flats.

Marc by Marc Jacobs Mouse Flats with Jeans


Marc by Marc Jacobs Mouse Flats with Jeans ways to wear metallic flats 8 ideas | awayfromtheblue


Simple mum style for a busy day with the kids - ballet flats and jeans! I like how printed, flared or colourful jeans all work as well with these shoes as much as skinny jeans do. Being metallic, I also feel they dress up the stay at home mum outfits a little more thank classic black ballet flats. My kids love that the shoes have little ears and whiskers too!


Gold Mouse Flats in Pregnancy


marc by marc jacobs mouse flats in pregnancy 4 outfit ideas | away from blue blog


While my pregnancies with the boys both ended with massive heatwaves and my feet swelled up massively with the heat and humidity, there were some days in pregnancy (second trimester and early third trimester) when I could still wear these shoes. I think the elasticated sections helped them stretch out a little, and they were still comfortable to wear.  It's not always possible to wear the same pair of shoes all 40 weeks of pregnancy, but I love looking back at my baby bump pics and seeing how I could still wear my pre-pregnancy pieces, even if they were just accessories!



Where to Buy Marc By Marc Jacobs Mouse Flats:







Similar Posts in the 30 Wears Series:





2019 Fashion Spend and 2020 Budget


Last year I set a simple goal, I wanted to spend less on fashion than I had the year before. In 2017 I spent $1,696.53, in 2018 I met that goal and only spent $1,014.44.

For 2019, I also met that goal and only spent $633.18 on fashion over the year (this includes a $158.99 gift card spend). For 2018, I'd spent $664.44 without gift cards and so I'm pleased to see I spent less than that in 2019 even with gift card spend included.

I had an average spend of $52.27 a month which is pretty good (my average spend in 2018 was $84.54 a month). Despite spending less, I bought more in 2019, with 43 items for the year so average of $14.72 each. Most of my gift card spend went to house things which is why I don't have a nice round figure for gift card spend on fashion.


How I spent less:


  • We had our big Europe trip at the start of the year as well as the move into our house when the build was finished.
  • We had a few things in mind to buy for the new house which reduced my budget, and I used most of the gift cards I got for Christmas (stores like Kmart and David Jones) on things for our new house.
  • I usually spend a lot in the January sales, but with the house build going on, studying for a big exam and saving for our Europe trip my mind was occupied with other things!
  • I focused on the 30 wear series more and on rewearing what I had instead of frequently buying new.
  • I shopped in the opshops more frequently and in high street stores less and although I couldn't resist all the sales I used my gift cards as much as possible when I did shop in the big shopping centres.
  • I had the 2018 previous spend figure of $1,014.44 in mind when spending anything on fashion to keep me on track, and I noted down my spend each month to know where I stood.


2020 Budget:


For this new year, I'd love to spend less on fashion than I did in 2019. $633.18 is a pretty low figure for me and one I'm very impressed with, but I'm not sure I could meet that again! I'm going to try meet that figure, but give myself a $1,000 budget similar to what I had in 2019 and I'll see how I go with spending less than that this year. If I can get less than $633.18 I'll be really impressed, but under $1,000, similar to the budget I had last year, and I'll be happy.

What's your fashion budget for this year?




Note: This post, like all my posts, was written and scheduled in advance. I had to add this note in though given the horrible situation unfolding in Australia, especially with it looking bleaker every day. So soon after my last note, once again the country is consumed with bushfires. We are safe from the bushfires, as are our family and friends for now.




Follow Away From the Blue on:
Bloglovin
Twitter : Instagram Youtube : Facebook : LikeToKnow.It 

Friday, 4 January 2019

30 Ways To Wear: Chloe Marcie Hobo Bag & 2018 Shopping Review & 2019 Budget

A new 30 ways to wear post, as well as a review of what I bought last year and my fashion budget for 2019!


I love handbags, and I have a lot of them! But I frequently sell some to have funds towards something else I want more. This Chloe Marcie hobo bag was a bag I loved, but rationalised I didn't wear as much as my Balenciaga day hobo bag, so I decided to let it go. I did hit 30 wears before I sold it, so I've dug through the blog archives for some older photos of my wearing it. I wonder if I'll cringe as much looking back at outfit pics now in a few years as much as I am looking back on these pics now? 😂


30 Ways To Wear: Chloe Marcie Hobo Bag In Nut



30 ways to wear the medium Chloe Marcie Hobo Bag in nut brown | awayfromtheblue  30wears challenge


Like many of my bags that I've now sold, I find this tricky to calculate cost per wear on! I bought it at a Reebonz offline sale, after wanting it for a while. I got a really good deal on it, so much so that I managed to sell it for almost what I paid for it. So you could calculate cost per wear based on the price I paid, or take that price minus the amount I got when I sold it and calculate it on around the $100 difference. I'm never sure what to do in these cases.

Inability to calculate cost per wear aside, I'm happy with the use I got from this bag. It held up really well, still looking like new when it eventually left my wardrobe, and I was pleased to look back at these old pics and see that I had hit 30 wears with it. I do sometimes regret selling it, but I know it wouldn't have gotten much more wear if it stayed in my wardrobe longer!


Chloe Marcie Hobo Bag In Summer


Chloe Marcie bag with summer outfits 5 ideas | awayfromblue

The handle drop on this bag is quite large, especially as the leather of the bag sags down a bit when the bag is full. It makes it an easy bag to throw over your shoulder in summer as it doesn't feel too tight or irritating to wear. The neutral colour works with all kinds of summer brights too!



Chloe Marcie Hobo Bag With Winter Layers


5 ways to wear Chloe Marcie hobo bag in winter layers | awayfromtheblue

Being a neutral brown, this 'nut' shade is perfect for adding to winter outfits. I've picked similarly coloured scarves to wear with the bag in each of these layered outfits, but you can see it would work well without any matching as it looks great with black winter layers!


Chloe Marcie Hobo In The Office


hobo bag in the office worn 6 ways: Chloe marcie in nut | awayfromblue

Printed dresses or pencil skirts, I found this Chloe Marcie bag worked so well for the office. Again making the most of the neutral shade I could wear it with brightly coloured or printed pieces, or just let it compliment a neutral outfit. It's a rather structured hobo shape so doesn't feel too casual for work.



Chloe Marcie Hobo Bag With Jeans


5 ways to wear a chloe marcie shoulder bag with jeans  | away from blue blog

As you can see in these photos, before I gave up my blue jeans I used to wear them a lot! The Chloe Marcie bag just works so well with denim, it's an easy choice when wearing jeans. I wore it a lot with skirts and dresses as you've seen in the earlier photos, but it was still a go-to with jeans too. Really versatile bag.


Chloe Marcie Hobo With Printed Outfits


Chloe neutral brown hobo handbag worn with prints 5 ways | away from the blue

Because this 'nut' shade is a nice neutral colour, it made the bag my default neutral piece to wear with prints. Something like a printed dress, or just a little print like a skirt or top, the hobo bag works nicely with all different prints and colours.


Chloe Marcie Hobo Bag In Pregnancy


4 outfit ideas wearing the chloe marcie hobo bag in pregnancy | awayfromblue

Despite only having this bag during my pregnancy with my eldest boy, it was worn enough times for me to be able to include it as a category here in my wrap up. You know I love looking back at my bump pics when doing these posts! I wore the bag a few times in the second and third trimester as you can see. It isn't a heavy bag so was nice to wear during pregnancy, the braided strap is really comfortable on the shoulder.



What's In My Bag: Chloe Marcie Medium Hobo Bag In Nut





Where To Buy:



This hobo style of Marcie has been discontinued, but there are still some places you can buy second hand! All the bags above come with authenticity guarantees even though they are preloved.



More Posts in The #30 Wears Handbag Series:

If you're looking for more outfit inspiration with this bag, you can see all 30+ ways I've worn it in my blog archives. I've included some links to other handbag related 30 wears posts below too. You can find the full post series by clicking here.


2018 Spend And Goals For 2019


My last shopping haul for the year!



My Total Spend in 2018


I totalled it up, I bought 30 fashion items (clothing and accessories) in 2018. In 2017 I spent $1,696.53, my goal in 2018 was to spend less than that. I achieved that as I spent $1,014.44 if you include gift cards, which works out to $84.54 a month. If you don't include gift card spend, I only spent $664.44. I'm really pleased with the figures and that I met my goal!


How Do I Do It?


I'm a fashion blogger with a love for expensive things (handbags 😂) without a big budget and slight shopaholic tendencies! I did a 6 months without shopping in 2017 which I ended up stretching out to 7 months, and really made me evaluate what I was buying and why.

I also continued to work on this 30 wears challenge! Every month I have to find something in my wardrobe I've worn 30 times or more to make these posts. This makes me focus more on ways I can rewear things I already own and makes me less likely to turn to a store for inspiration when looking or something to wear. Looking through my blog archives for ways I've worn things before often gives me ideas of things to try from past outfits!



My Goals For 2019


Same as last year, my goal for this year will be to spend less than I did last year. To make things easy on myself, I'll include the gift card spend. So 2019 will be the year of spending less (again), rewearing more, and hoping I don't go over my $1,014.44 budget! Wish me luck!


Linking up with Style Sessions, Lizzie In Lace, Fancy Friday, Sunday Reflections, Weekday Wear, On Mondays We Link Up.



Follow Away From the Blue on:
Bloglovin
Twitter : Instagram Youtube : Facebook : Google Plus : LikeToKnow.It 

Wednesday, 31 October 2018

What I Bought in October & How I've Worn It: Shopping Haul & Try On Video

After I managed #nospenderSeptember without really thinking about it, I expected I might shop a little more than usual this month.

As you can see from the video below, while I did shop at a couple of places I got most things at a discount thanks to sales!



What I Bought:





Not Mentioned In the Video:

Just like in August's haul video, I've only included things I've purchased, but I was given more things I wanted to share here. As part of my brand rep role for Fashion Scarf Girl on Instagram, I was gifted some scarves to wear. You might have seen these pop up on Instagram over the month, but they haven't appeared on the blog yet. As always, I'll disclose when an item was sent to me to wear (marked c/o). There's another one I was given too but I haven't worn that yet!

fashion scarf girl scarves brand rep awayfromblue instagram


Why I Bought It

I go into this in a little more detail in the video.

Somewhat predictably, the allure of the Jeanswest sale was too strong and while I avoided it for September, I caved on the very first day of October and went in 'just to look' while out with my sister, which turned into a try on session and some purchases..

It's been a LONG time since I've ordered anything from The Iconic - last time was in their boxing day sale almost 2 years ago! Was overdue a shop there!

And you might already know about the Rebecca Minkoff bag from my reveal / unboxing video!

How I've Worn It


October Shopping haul and try on video what a fashion blogger buys each month | awayfromtheblue


With the majority of my purchases being early in the month, it was easy to mostly achieve my goal of wearing things twice in the month I purchase them! That dress is the exception - I haven't even worn it once as I've decided to set it aside for Christmas day. I know it's early to plan Christmas outfits, but I know a dress like that needs a special debut! I'm happy with it not meeting my 'wear twice in the month I buy it rule' as I know it's going to be worn a lot after Christmas.


What was your favourite piece of everything I bought?


Linking up with Chic & Stylish, Fashion Files, Weekend Wear, Fabulous Friday, Weekend Linkup, Friday Faves, Lizzie In Lace.


Follow Away From the Blue on:
Bloglovin
Twitter : Instagram Youtube : Facebook : Google Plus : LikeToKnow.It 

Friday, 29 June 2018

What I Bought In June & How I've Worn It: Shopping Haul & Try On Video

Time for an overdue shopping haul video! The last item I ordered in May finally arrived so I thought I'd do a wrap up video with some of my May purchases and my June ones. I felt like I bought a lot, but it was only a handful of pieces - 3 to be exact! You can see my June purchases and the other pieces I bought in May in the video below. Plus, I included some bloopers at the end!



What I Bought:






A month of impulse buys, after last minute browsing of the Rebecca Minkoff sale and just popping into the opshop for a quick look both resulted in buying things.

While I'm a little annoyed that the handbag I bought didn't arrive the same month I bought it, and it wasn't the colour I expected, I absolutely adore it. It was a bargain too, at 50% off! I'll upload a proper review of it on my YouTube channel at some point, but for now I'll just say I love it and I've enjoyed every time I've worn it.

I had been looking at the new Jeanswest winter collection and admiring the yellow knits when I saw this one in the opshop and for just $1 I quickly forgot all about the Jeanswest ones I'd been looking at! While it would be too thin a knit for winter in most other places, it will be perfect for Brisbane. When it gets really cold, I plan to layer a long sleeve tee underneath, which I've done in the past with my open knits to make them more winter appropriate.

The Coca-Cola tee caught my eye to add to my collection of Coca-Cola things. I have so many glass bottles, as well as towels, balls, badges, toy cars, even a Coca-Cola cookbook! While I don't drink it so much now, I still smiled when I saw this tee and just had to snap it up for just $1. I also feel like I've seen something similar in stores lately, with the recent rise in logo tees it's perfectly on trend.



How I Wore It:


June purchases and ways to wear away from the blue blog


I had no troubles finding and thinking of different ways to wear the pieces I got this month - which is a sign that they will hopefully be good additions to my wardrobe. They seem to be so far.

Every month I set myself a goal of wearing everything I buy at least twice in the same month I buy it, to make sure I'm buying pieces I want to wear immediately and can easily think of different ways to wear. As you can see from the pics above, everything was happily worn twice or more.

I'm giving myself a little bit of grace with the Rebecca Minkoff Love bag, as it didn't arrive until a month after I ordered it. I did wear it 3 times in the month after it finally arrived though, so still counting it as meeting my goal.



Update on Yearly Budget:


June is usually a big spending month for me as it's a change of season and I want to stock up on all the fun winter pieces in store. I'm pleased I haven't done much of that and only bought a handful of pieces this year. I'm really focusing on rewearing more of what I already own.

I've definitely spent more in the first six months of 2018 than I did in 2017 though, only because I did 6 months without shopping in the first half of 2017. I'm still less than half way under my total spend from last year so I'm hoping I can stick to that and spend less overall this year than I did last year. Fingers crossed!

I'll be attempting #noBuyJuly18 (just like I've done in previous years) so there shouldn't be any purchases next month to report. Feel free to join me if you want to forgo fashion spending for a month! My tips for surviving 6 months without shopping might come in helpful!




And finally, I was the Featured Fashionista over at Have Clothes, Will Travel so go check it out! You'll find out a little more about me and why I blog.



Linking up with Lizzie In Lace, Weekend Link Up, Shoe & Tell, Mix It Monday, On Mondays We Link Up.


Follow Away From the Blue on:
Bloglovin
Twitter : Instagram Youtube : Facebook : Google Plus : LikeToKnow.It 

Wednesday, 6 June 2018

Two Ways To Wear Jeanswest Waterfall Drape Cardigan in Navy

I bought some new cardigans recently to celebrate the cooler weather in Brisbane! You might have seen in Monday's office wear post how to wear them in the office, but today I'm picking the navy one and showing you two different ways to wear it.

This is the new season Jeanswest waterfall drape cardigan, which has two buttons on the top and button holes in the hem. It means you can button up one side as an impromptu breastfeeding cover, or you can button up both hems and wear it like a cowl neck knit.

While it's winter now, it was still a mild autumn when I wore this cardigan for the first time, so I'm wearing it with shorts in both outfits.

What I wore:

Jeanswest waterfall drape cardigan in navy night sky marle with shorts yellow tank, Balenciaga day bag | awayfromblue

Balenciaga truffle brown RH classic day bag hobo on shoulder | awayfromtheblue

awayfromblue instagram navy waterfall cardigan yellow tanks and shorts for autumn balenciaga day
JacketJeanswest waterfall drape cardigan in navy night sky marle
NecklaceRoie Designs pearl and antique gold long necklace
Tank: thrifted Cotton On yellow tank
ShortsJeanswest 'Scarlette' printed shorts
ShoesAsos leather Chelsea boots in tan
BagBalenciaga truffle brown RH classic day bag

Why I wore it:

I was so eager to squeeze in another wear of these shorts, in my effort to hit 30 wears on them before the summer weather really ended. With the ankle boots and long cardigan, they were just warm enough for the last of our summer heat before autumn truly set in. The blue shorts were an obvious choice to wear with the navy cardigan as I love wearing these shorts with navy pieces to create monochrome outfits.

The mustard cardigan is something I've worn frequently with these shorts too, I really like yellow and blue together. A nice cheerful and colourful outfit, yet still practical for working from home and doing the daycare drop off / pick up.


Last worn: navy waterfall cardigan, mustard yellow tank, blue printed soft shorts, Chelsea leather ankle boots, Balenciaga truffle brown day bag.

Other ways to wearnavy waterfall cardigan in the office, mustard yellow tank and kimono, blue printed soft shorts and navy peasant top, Chelsea leather ankle boots and burgundy pants, Balenciaga truffle brown day bag and shorts.

Perfect for pregnancymustard yellow tank in second trimester, Chelsea leather ankle boots in second trimester, Balenciaga truffle brown day bag for second trimester travel.


Review and Contents: Balenciaga Day Bag In Magenta






What I wore:

Jeanswest waterfall drape cardigan in navy night sky marle (worn as top) with shorts | away from blue

Balenciaga Day bag in 2005 magenta, navy knit | away from the blue blog

awayfromblue instagram: navy cowl neck knit, denim shorts, Balenciaga Magenta day bag
JacketJeanswest waterfall drape cardigan in navy night sky marle (worn as top)
ShortsJeanswest Sara distressed hot short
ShoesWalnut Melbourne 'Ava' black lizard ballet flats (also available in silver)
BagBalenciaga Day bag in 2005 magenta


Why I wore it:

There was a little more rushing around when I wore this outfit. We had some errands to run and a doctor's appointment in the morning. I thought the cardigan buttoned up and worn like a tank would be perfect with shorts, as it was quite a sunny day. It was also rather windy though, so I did regret choosing shorts when walking between stores and giving Cooper his afternoon walk when the wind picked up.

The magenta Balenciaga Day bag is my favourite part of this outfit - it really pops with the navy cardigan. If it had been a less windy day, I would have liked this outfit more I'm sure. It was still warm in the sun, so jeans would have been too much with the cardigan buttoned up like this though. Not a bad outfit, just not the best for the weather that day!


Last worn: navy cardigan (above), denim shorts, ballet flats, magenta Balenciaga day bag.

Other ways to wearnavy cardigan in the office, denim shorts and foil print tee, ballet flats and fit and flare dress, magenta Balenciaga bag with purple cardigan.

Perfect for pregnancyballet flats in second trimester, magenta Balenciaga day bag in third trimester.



Navy Cardigans Under $50:





How You Can Wear It:


During those in-between seasons where it's not too hot or not too cold, a cardigan can be a good option with some shorts! A neutral navy cardigan like this will go with so much too. While this has buttons to take the hems up, you could easily replicate the second outfit with a waterfall drape cardigan you own and a brooch or pin.


Linking up with Weekend Wear, Fabulous Friday.


Follow Away From the Blue on:
Bloglovin
Twitter : Instagram Youtube : Facebook : Google Plus : LikeToKnow.It 

Wednesday, 30 May 2018

What I Bought In May & How I've Worn It - Jeanswest Waterfall Drape Cardigan

While I did do some shopping, there is no haul video this month. One of my purchases hasn't arrived and so I'll wait until then to film a video. Instead, I'll share with you the two pieces that I do have after buying them this month.

Jeanswest had a 30% off sale on knitwear, so as I usually do, I checked the site 'just to browse' and saw this beautiful waterfall drape cardigan. I ended up buying two!

The cardigan comes in three colours, so I went to the store to try them on, and ended up loving both colours I tried on and bought both. After donating 3 of the cardigans I'd just unboxed from my boxes of winter clothes I pulled out of storage though I felt justified in doing so!


As you can see from the photos below of how I wore the cardigans, you can wear them two ways which instantly appealed to me.


What I Bought:







There are two buttons, one on each shoulder of the cardigan, and a button hole at the bottom of each hem. That means you can button up one or both sides of the cardigan when you wear it (like I did here). It's ideal for breastfeeding, as it turns your cardigan into a breastfeeding cover, and is something I wish I had when I was breastfeeding. I used to have to hold baby and the cardigan over the top of him when using my cardigans as breastfeeding covers. While my breastfeeding days are behind me, I'm still tagging breastfeeding friendly outfits on the blog. I'll just be making use of the feature when I want to wear these cardigans differently!


When I buy things, I think of two ways to wear them. With the buttons making these cardigans adaptable, it was an easy purchase to make as I have so many more ways to wear them. I'm thinking that the new thicker red cardigan will get worn more than the light one it replaced too.

How I Wore It:

Jeanswest waterfall drape cardigan 2018 5 ways to wear red and navy | awayfromtheblue blog


I'm pleased I was able to wear these cardigans so soon after I bought them, unlike the last knit I bought back at the start of autumn when it took weeks for the weather to cool.

Special mention also to these two lovely kimonos the boys got me for Mother's Day that were added to my wardrobe in May!



For the third thing I bought, I will share a reveal video as soon as it arrives. I ordered something from the Rebecca Minkoff online sample sale. There will be a delay in shipping as the sale was so popular, and it takes a while to reach Australia from the US too. Can't wait for it to arrive. Make sure you're subscribed to my YouTube channel to see it before it reaches the blog!


Linking up with Style On The Daily, Oh Hey Girl, Fashion Frenzy, Fashion Files, Fun Fashion, Weekend Wear, Fabulous Friday.


Follow Away From the Blue on:
Bloglovin
Twitter : Instagram Youtube : Facebook : Google Plus : LikeToKnow.It 

Friday, 11 May 2018

Two Ways To Wear Rebecca Minkoff Ruana Poncho with Shorts: Adding Autumn Layers to Summer Outfits

When I stumbled across this Rebecca Minkoff knit poncho / kimono in the Shopbop sale I couldn't get it out of my head. I have no shortage of kimonos in my wardrobe, but it is different from any of the ones I already owned. From the fall/winter collection, it's a thick and cosy acrylic knit that I knew would be perfect for autumn or winter outfits when it gets too chilly to wear my thinner kimonos.

I hadn't planned to wear it with shorts, I was thinking of cooler temperatures and jeans! But it was good to take advantage of the cooler mornings and evenings in this mild Brisbane autumn and throw it on as an extra layer with my shorts.


What I wore:

 Rebecca Minkoff Ruana poncho in monochrome shorts and tee outfit print mixing with foil stripes | awayfromblue

tassel poncho and Rebecca Minkoff metallic silver mini MAC | awayfromtheblue

Necklace: silver heart long pendant necklace
TeeJeanswest Anika foil stripe tee in white and silver
ShortJeanswest Sara distressed hot short
ShoesConverse Chuck Taylor All Star low in white
BagRebecca Minkoff metallic silver mini MAC

Why I wore it:

Kept things simple this time I wore the kimono. As it was predicted to rain, I thought this would be perfect to keep cosy as we ran a few errands before and after our Australian Breastfeeding Association mothers group. Picked the Converse as a practical choice too, although we were lucky to get home just before the storms rolled in, the rain and thunder chased us home!

I was going to wear a colourful necklace with this, one of my baby-friendly teething ones, but decided at the last moment to keep things completely monochrome and went with a silver necklace to match the silver foil stripes on the tee and silver bag. I ended up having a conversation with a friend about how I might just stick to baby friendly necklaces for the group in future - this necklace got tugged on quite a few times, and that was just by my boys!

Usually I'll add a little colour to a monochrome outfit, but with the print mixing with the print on the kimono and the striped tee, I felt my outfit was busy enough. I really liked this outfit, and I'm looking forward to wearing this kimono more as the weather continues to cool in Brisbane.


Last worn: foil stripe tee, distressed denim shorts, Converse, Rebecca Minkoff metallic silver mini MAC.

Other ways to wearfoil stripe tee and olive short, distressed denim shorts in capsule wardrobe, Converse and swing dress, Rebecca Minkoff metallic silver mini MAC and purple jeans.

Perfect for pregnancy: Converse in second trimester, Rebecca Minkoff metallic silver mini MAC in third trimester.


What I Bought Last Month:

(Including some action shots of me wearing the kimono in different ways)






What I wore:

Rebecca Minkoff Ruana poncho print mixing with mustard tank shorts autumn SAHM style | away from blue

silver bracelet stack, Rebecca Minkoff micro Regan satchel in Harvest Gold | away from the blue

awayfromblue print mixing Rebecca Minkoff Ruana poncho mustard and blue tank and shorts micro regan bag
JacketRebecca Minkoff Ruana poncho
Necklace: Uniquely Made with Love Sea Change necklace
TankJeanswest Maya gather back tank in chartreuse
ShortsJeanswest 'Scarlette' printed shorts
Shoesblack slim Havaianas thongs
BagRebecca Minkoff micro Regan satchel in Harvest Gold

Why I wore it:

This was a much more colourful outfit to wear with the black and white kimono. This had seemed like a great idea in my head, but I felt it was a little busy when I looked back at the photos. I did really like the mustard tank under the kimono though, I'm going to have to give that a try again.

Was a busy day with daycare drop off and pick up and working from home, but at the last minute Baby Boy's specialist appointment was postponed so that freed up the evening a little and gave me a little more time to do the daycare pickup and get dinner organised.

Although it's the first time I've worn the kimono with these pieces, I have worn the tank and shorts together before. I like wearing these blue shorts with yellow, so cheerful and colourful.


Last worn: Rebecca Minkoff kimono (above), mustard tank, blue printed shorts, Havaianas, Rebecca Minkoff micro Regan bag.

Other ways to wearmustard tank in the office, blue printed shorts in monochrome outfit, Rebecca Minkoff micro Regan bag and little black dress.



More Black and White Kimonos Under $50:



This poncho I'm wearing has just been added to the 75% off Rebecca Minkoff Online sample sale too!


How You Can Wear It:

Cosy knitted ponchos or kimonos make great layers when the weather starts to cool in autumn or when it hasn't warmed up enough in spring. A classic black and white one works just was well with a monochrome outfit as it does with a bold and colourful one, so it's easier to wear more often.


Linking up with Lizzie In Lace, Shoe & Tell, Hello Monday, Mix It Monday.


Follow Away From the Blue on:
Bloglovin
Twitter : Instagram Youtube : Facebook : Google Plus : LikeToKnow.It