Showing posts with label Purchase Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Purchase Review. Show all posts

Friday, 29 June 2018

What I Bought In June & How I've Worn It: Shopping Haul & Try On Video

Time for an overdue shopping haul video! The last item I ordered in May finally arrived so I thought I'd do a wrap up video with some of my May purchases and my June ones. I felt like I bought a lot, but it was only a handful of pieces - 3 to be exact! You can see my June purchases and the other pieces I bought in May in the video below. Plus, I included some bloopers at the end!



What I Bought:






A month of impulse buys, after last minute browsing of the Rebecca Minkoff sale and just popping into the opshop for a quick look both resulted in buying things.

While I'm a little annoyed that the handbag I bought didn't arrive the same month I bought it, and it wasn't the colour I expected, I absolutely adore it. It was a bargain too, at 50% off! I'll upload a proper review of it on my YouTube channel at some point, but for now I'll just say I love it and I've enjoyed every time I've worn it.

I had been looking at the new Jeanswest winter collection and admiring the yellow knits when I saw this one in the opshop and for just $1 I quickly forgot all about the Jeanswest ones I'd been looking at! While it would be too thin a knit for winter in most other places, it will be perfect for Brisbane. When it gets really cold, I plan to layer a long sleeve tee underneath, which I've done in the past with my open knits to make them more winter appropriate.

The Coca-Cola tee caught my eye to add to my collection of Coca-Cola things. I have so many glass bottles, as well as towels, balls, badges, toy cars, even a Coca-Cola cookbook! While I don't drink it so much now, I still smiled when I saw this tee and just had to snap it up for just $1. I also feel like I've seen something similar in stores lately, with the recent rise in logo tees it's perfectly on trend.



How I Wore It:


June purchases and ways to wear away from the blue blog


I had no troubles finding and thinking of different ways to wear the pieces I got this month - which is a sign that they will hopefully be good additions to my wardrobe. They seem to be so far.

Every month I set myself a goal of wearing everything I buy at least twice in the same month I buy it, to make sure I'm buying pieces I want to wear immediately and can easily think of different ways to wear. As you can see from the pics above, everything was happily worn twice or more.

I'm giving myself a little bit of grace with the Rebecca Minkoff Love bag, as it didn't arrive until a month after I ordered it. I did wear it 3 times in the month after it finally arrived though, so still counting it as meeting my goal.



Update on Yearly Budget:


June is usually a big spending month for me as it's a change of season and I want to stock up on all the fun winter pieces in store. I'm pleased I haven't done much of that and only bought a handful of pieces this year. I'm really focusing on rewearing more of what I already own.

I've definitely spent more in the first six months of 2018 than I did in 2017 though, only because I did 6 months without shopping in the first half of 2017. I'm still less than half way under my total spend from last year so I'm hoping I can stick to that and spend less overall this year than I did last year. Fingers crossed!

I'll be attempting #noBuyJuly18 (just like I've done in previous years) so there shouldn't be any purchases next month to report. Feel free to join me if you want to forgo fashion spending for a month! My tips for surviving 6 months without shopping might come in helpful!




And finally, I was the Featured Fashionista over at Have Clothes, Will Travel so go check it out! You'll find out a little more about me and why I blog.



Linking up with Lizzie In Lace, Weekend Link Up, Shoe & Tell, Mix It Monday, On Mondays We Link Up.


Follow Away From the Blue on:
Bloglovin
Twitter : Instagram Youtube : Facebook : Google Plus : LikeToKnow.It 

Wednesday, 6 June 2018

Two Ways To Wear Jeanswest Waterfall Drape Cardigan in Navy

I bought some new cardigans recently to celebrate the cooler weather in Brisbane! You might have seen in Monday's office wear post how to wear them in the office, but today I'm picking the navy one and showing you two different ways to wear it.

This is the new season Jeanswest waterfall drape cardigan, which has two buttons on the top and button holes in the hem. It means you can button up one side as an impromptu breastfeeding cover, or you can button up both hems and wear it like a cowl neck knit.

While it's winter now, it was still a mild autumn when I wore this cardigan for the first time, so I'm wearing it with shorts in both outfits.

What I wore:

Jeanswest waterfall drape cardigan in navy night sky marle with shorts yellow tank, Balenciaga day bag | awayfromblue

Balenciaga truffle brown RH classic day bag hobo on shoulder | awayfromtheblue

awayfromblue instagram navy waterfall cardigan yellow tanks and shorts for autumn balenciaga day
JacketJeanswest waterfall drape cardigan in navy night sky marle
NecklaceRoie Designs pearl and antique gold long necklace
Tank: thrifted Cotton On yellow tank
ShortsJeanswest 'Scarlette' printed shorts
ShoesAsos leather Chelsea boots in tan
BagBalenciaga truffle brown RH classic day bag

Why I wore it:

I was so eager to squeeze in another wear of these shorts, in my effort to hit 30 wears on them before the summer weather really ended. With the ankle boots and long cardigan, they were just warm enough for the last of our summer heat before autumn truly set in. The blue shorts were an obvious choice to wear with the navy cardigan as I love wearing these shorts with navy pieces to create monochrome outfits.

The mustard cardigan is something I've worn frequently with these shorts too, I really like yellow and blue together. A nice cheerful and colourful outfit, yet still practical for working from home and doing the daycare drop off / pick up.


Last worn: navy waterfall cardigan, mustard yellow tank, blue printed soft shorts, Chelsea leather ankle boots, Balenciaga truffle brown day bag.

Other ways to wearnavy waterfall cardigan in the office, mustard yellow tank and kimono, blue printed soft shorts and navy peasant top, Chelsea leather ankle boots and burgundy pants, Balenciaga truffle brown day bag and shorts.

Perfect for pregnancymustard yellow tank in second trimester, Chelsea leather ankle boots in second trimester, Balenciaga truffle brown day bag for second trimester travel.


Review and Contents: Balenciaga Day Bag In Magenta






What I wore:

Jeanswest waterfall drape cardigan in navy night sky marle (worn as top) with shorts | away from blue

Balenciaga Day bag in 2005 magenta, navy knit | away from the blue blog

awayfromblue instagram: navy cowl neck knit, denim shorts, Balenciaga Magenta day bag
JacketJeanswest waterfall drape cardigan in navy night sky marle (worn as top)
ShortsJeanswest Sara distressed hot short
ShoesWalnut Melbourne 'Ava' black lizard ballet flats (also available in silver)
BagBalenciaga Day bag in 2005 magenta


Why I wore it:

There was a little more rushing around when I wore this outfit. We had some errands to run and a doctor's appointment in the morning. I thought the cardigan buttoned up and worn like a tank would be perfect with shorts, as it was quite a sunny day. It was also rather windy though, so I did regret choosing shorts when walking between stores and giving Cooper his afternoon walk when the wind picked up.

The magenta Balenciaga Day bag is my favourite part of this outfit - it really pops with the navy cardigan. If it had been a less windy day, I would have liked this outfit more I'm sure. It was still warm in the sun, so jeans would have been too much with the cardigan buttoned up like this though. Not a bad outfit, just not the best for the weather that day!


Last worn: navy cardigan (above), denim shorts, ballet flats, magenta Balenciaga day bag.

Other ways to wearnavy cardigan in the office, denim shorts and foil print tee, ballet flats and fit and flare dress, magenta Balenciaga bag with purple cardigan.

Perfect for pregnancyballet flats in second trimester, magenta Balenciaga day bag in third trimester.



Navy Cardigans Under $50:





How You Can Wear It:


During those in-between seasons where it's not too hot or not too cold, a cardigan can be a good option with some shorts! A neutral navy cardigan like this will go with so much too. While this has buttons to take the hems up, you could easily replicate the second outfit with a waterfall drape cardigan you own and a brooch or pin.


Linking up with Weekend Wear, Fabulous Friday.


Follow Away From the Blue on:
Bloglovin
Twitter : Instagram Youtube : Facebook : Google Plus : LikeToKnow.It 

Wednesday, 30 May 2018

What I Bought In May & How I've Worn It - Jeanswest Waterfall Drape Cardigan

While I did do some shopping, there is no haul video this month. One of my purchases hasn't arrived and so I'll wait until then to film a video. Instead, I'll share with you the two pieces that I do have after buying them this month.

Jeanswest had a 30% off sale on knitwear, so as I usually do, I checked the site 'just to browse' and saw this beautiful waterfall drape cardigan. I ended up buying two!

The cardigan comes in three colours, so I went to the store to try them on, and ended up loving both colours I tried on and bought both. After donating 3 of the cardigans I'd just unboxed from my boxes of winter clothes I pulled out of storage though I felt justified in doing so!


As you can see from the photos below of how I wore the cardigans, you can wear them two ways which instantly appealed to me.


What I Bought:







There are two buttons, one on each shoulder of the cardigan, and a button hole at the bottom of each hem. That means you can button up one or both sides of the cardigan when you wear it (like I did here). It's ideal for breastfeeding, as it turns your cardigan into a breastfeeding cover, and is something I wish I had when I was breastfeeding. I used to have to hold baby and the cardigan over the top of him when using my cardigans as breastfeeding covers. While my breastfeeding days are behind me, I'm still tagging breastfeeding friendly outfits on the blog. I'll just be making use of the feature when I want to wear these cardigans differently!


When I buy things, I think of two ways to wear them. With the buttons making these cardigans adaptable, it was an easy purchase to make as I have so many more ways to wear them. I'm thinking that the new thicker red cardigan will get worn more than the light one it replaced too.

How I Wore It:

Jeanswest waterfall drape cardigan 2018 5 ways to wear red and navy | awayfromtheblue blog


I'm pleased I was able to wear these cardigans so soon after I bought them, unlike the last knit I bought back at the start of autumn when it took weeks for the weather to cool.

Special mention also to these two lovely kimonos the boys got me for Mother's Day that were added to my wardrobe in May!



For the third thing I bought, I will share a reveal video as soon as it arrives. I ordered something from the Rebecca Minkoff online sample sale. There will be a delay in shipping as the sale was so popular, and it takes a while to reach Australia from the US too. Can't wait for it to arrive. Make sure you're subscribed to my YouTube channel to see it before it reaches the blog!


Linking up with Style On The Daily, Oh Hey Girl, Fashion Frenzy, Fashion Files, Fun Fashion, Weekend Wear, Fabulous Friday.


Follow Away From the Blue on:
Bloglovin
Twitter : Instagram Youtube : Facebook : Google Plus : LikeToKnow.It 

Friday, 11 May 2018

Two Ways To Wear Rebecca Minkoff Ruana Poncho with Shorts: Adding Autumn Layers to Summer Outfits

When I stumbled across this Rebecca Minkoff knit poncho / kimono in the Shopbop sale I couldn't get it out of my head. I have no shortage of kimonos in my wardrobe, but it is different from any of the ones I already owned. From the fall/winter collection, it's a thick and cosy acrylic knit that I knew would be perfect for autumn or winter outfits when it gets too chilly to wear my thinner kimonos.

I hadn't planned to wear it with shorts, I was thinking of cooler temperatures and jeans! But it was good to take advantage of the cooler mornings and evenings in this mild Brisbane autumn and throw it on as an extra layer with my shorts.


What I wore:

 Rebecca Minkoff Ruana poncho in monochrome shorts and tee outfit print mixing with foil stripes | awayfromblue

tassel poncho and Rebecca Minkoff metallic silver mini MAC | awayfromtheblue

Necklace: silver heart long pendant necklace
TeeJeanswest Anika foil stripe tee in white and silver
ShortJeanswest Sara distressed hot short
ShoesConverse Chuck Taylor All Star low in white
BagRebecca Minkoff metallic silver mini MAC

Why I wore it:

Kept things simple this time I wore the kimono. As it was predicted to rain, I thought this would be perfect to keep cosy as we ran a few errands before and after our Australian Breastfeeding Association mothers group. Picked the Converse as a practical choice too, although we were lucky to get home just before the storms rolled in, the rain and thunder chased us home!

I was going to wear a colourful necklace with this, one of my baby-friendly teething ones, but decided at the last moment to keep things completely monochrome and went with a silver necklace to match the silver foil stripes on the tee and silver bag. I ended up having a conversation with a friend about how I might just stick to baby friendly necklaces for the group in future - this necklace got tugged on quite a few times, and that was just by my boys!

Usually I'll add a little colour to a monochrome outfit, but with the print mixing with the print on the kimono and the striped tee, I felt my outfit was busy enough. I really liked this outfit, and I'm looking forward to wearing this kimono more as the weather continues to cool in Brisbane.


Last worn: foil stripe tee, distressed denim shorts, Converse, Rebecca Minkoff metallic silver mini MAC.

Other ways to wearfoil stripe tee and olive short, distressed denim shorts in capsule wardrobe, Converse and swing dress, Rebecca Minkoff metallic silver mini MAC and purple jeans.

Perfect for pregnancy: Converse in second trimester, Rebecca Minkoff metallic silver mini MAC in third trimester.


What I Bought Last Month:

(Including some action shots of me wearing the kimono in different ways)






What I wore:

Rebecca Minkoff Ruana poncho print mixing with mustard tank shorts autumn SAHM style | away from blue

silver bracelet stack, Rebecca Minkoff micro Regan satchel in Harvest Gold | away from the blue

awayfromblue print mixing Rebecca Minkoff Ruana poncho mustard and blue tank and shorts micro regan bag
JacketRebecca Minkoff Ruana poncho
Necklace: Uniquely Made with Love Sea Change necklace
TankJeanswest Maya gather back tank in chartreuse
ShortsJeanswest 'Scarlette' printed shorts
Shoesblack slim Havaianas thongs
BagRebecca Minkoff micro Regan satchel in Harvest Gold

Why I wore it:

This was a much more colourful outfit to wear with the black and white kimono. This had seemed like a great idea in my head, but I felt it was a little busy when I looked back at the photos. I did really like the mustard tank under the kimono though, I'm going to have to give that a try again.

Was a busy day with daycare drop off and pick up and working from home, but at the last minute Baby Boy's specialist appointment was postponed so that freed up the evening a little and gave me a little more time to do the daycare pickup and get dinner organised.

Although it's the first time I've worn the kimono with these pieces, I have worn the tank and shorts together before. I like wearing these blue shorts with yellow, so cheerful and colourful.


Last worn: Rebecca Minkoff kimono (above), mustard tank, blue printed shorts, Havaianas, Rebecca Minkoff micro Regan bag.

Other ways to wearmustard tank in the office, blue printed shorts in monochrome outfit, Rebecca Minkoff micro Regan bag and little black dress.



More Black and White Kimonos Under $50:



This poncho I'm wearing has just been added to the 75% off Rebecca Minkoff Online sample sale too!


How You Can Wear It:

Cosy knitted ponchos or kimonos make great layers when the weather starts to cool in autumn or when it hasn't warmed up enough in spring. A classic black and white one works just was well with a monochrome outfit as it does with a bold and colourful one, so it's easier to wear more often.


Linking up with Lizzie In Lace, Shoe & Tell, Hello Monday, Mix It Monday.


Follow Away From the Blue on:
Bloglovin
Twitter : Instagram Youtube : Facebook : Google Plus : LikeToKnow.It 

Wednesday, 28 February 2018

February Purchases and Wearing Things Twice In The Month I Buy Them

This time last year I was doing my #6monthsWithoutShopping challenge. This year, I'm not doing that challenge so I'm free to spend! I continue to have the goal of spending less this year than I did last year though. Even with the freedom to shop I haven't bought much, I've definitely changed my shopaholic habits.


away from the blue blog february shopping haul YouTube video





Just two purchases this month! A long thought out purchase and an impulse buy, but I've worn the impulse buy one the most surprisingly.



Here's what I bought:








How I Wore It


I have my 'wear everything twice in the month you buy it' rule. I started this a few years ago to ensure I was only buying things I could get use from right away, to stop the discovery of unworn with tags items in my wardrobe. There have been a few exceptions to this rule, one when my pregnant belly outgrew something before I got to wear it and the rest have been weather related. As I mentioned in the video, the foil jumper hasn't been worn because of the weather.

The wear twice rule still works though. I did consider buying something else this month but decided against it. Purely because I had to order it online and it wouldn't have made it in time for me to wear it twice in February. It was a 'want' item, not a 'need', but my large wardrobe makes almost every purchase a 'want'! It was easier to refrain from purchasing know it wouldn't pass the wear twice rule. Maybe next month I'll buy it if I keep thinking about it.


two ways to wear distressed denim shorts with kimonos in summer | away from the blue blog

The foil knit, bought a few days before the heatwave, didn't get worn at all this month.  There's a little more detail in the video above, but basically I bought this thinking I might not get to wear it right away, and bought it anyway as I didn't want to miss out on the trend again.

The denim shorts, an impulse buy, have been worn right away as you can see above, as they were perfect for the heatwave.  I know I bought a lot of new shorts for summer a couple of months ago, but when you stumble across $60+ denim in your size in the op-shop, you buy it! While I've worn them similarly here with printed tanks and kimonos, the video has more ways to wear them.


I'm pretty content with my wardrobe now. I might buy that piece I keep thinking about or I might wait until cooler weather to see where the gaps are in my wardrobe!



If you enjoyed the video, I'd love you to subscribe to my YouTube channel!



Linking up with Oh Hey Girl, Fashion Files, Fun Fashion, Fabulous Friday, Weekend Wear, Flashback Fashion.


Follow Away From the Blue on:
Bloglovin
Twitter : Instagram Youtube : Facebook : Google Plus : LikeToKnow.It 

Friday, 26 January 2018

Navy Printed Dresses and Red Saddle Bag

Blogging does influences my outfits. I try to plan my outfits the night before, but sometimes I'll think ahead and plan them out a little more in advance. I wasn't sure at first how I'd wear this new dress I got from Shein, but an evening out seemed like the perfect time. As we were going out for dinner again a few days later, I thought I'd wear my navy Zara dress, and create an easy post with navy dinner dresses. Simple.

I changed my mind last minute and wore something else to dinner instead of my Zara dress. Still wore it a few days later so I could still group both dress outfits together in this post though!

What I wore:

Shein navy flower print flowy dress with Rebecca Minkoff accessories red saddle bag | away from blue

navy swing dress, Rebecca Minkoff unlined saddle bag in cherry red | away from the blue

awayfromblue instagram rebecca minkoff sandals saddle bag, Shein navy flower print flowy dress
Necklace: Lovisa gold filigree heart pendant
Dress: Shein navy flower print flowy dress (C/O)
ShoesRebecca Minkoff Georgina studded gladiator sandals in blush
BagRebecca Minkoff unlined saddle bag in cherry red (on sale in blue!)

Why I wore it:

When I ordered this dress from Shein, I wasn't sure about the sizing. Most people said it ran true to size, with a few saying it was on the larger size. As it was a relaxed fit, I decided to order my usual small size instead of a medium. I'm so glad I ordered a small as this swing dress is so perfectly loose and floaty, the medium would have been much too big. It was actually tricky trying to get a good photo of the dress with the evening breeze blowing it around, but I managed in the end!

Since there was red in the print of the dress, I thought my red Rebecca Minkoff saddle bag would pair nicely. I was going to wear a new red necklace I got for Christmas too, but it didn't work with the neckline of the dress, so I went for my rose gold filigree heart pendant instead.

As I got this dress C/O, my thoughts on it: unlike the crochet trim kimono I got in the same order, there were no stray threads on this dress at all. The material is thin and light as expected, but not see-through. It's ideal for summer, even with the slightly longer sleeves. While bigger than I expected, it makes the dress a nice length on my petite self and based on all the compliments this dress got I'm not the only one that likes it. Not bad for a dress that's less than $22!


Last worn: studded sandals, Rebecca Minkoff saddle bag. First time I've worn the dress as it's a recent addition to my wardrobe.

Other ways to wearstudded sandals worn 30 ways, Rebecca Minkoff saddle bag and jeans.




Rebecca Minkoff Saddle Bags:









What I wore:

Zara navy printed bib front tunic dress summer studded sandals saddle bag | awayfromblue

mixed metal bracelet stack, navy dress, Red Rebecca Minkoff studded saddle bag | awayfromtheblue

awayfromblue instagram navy printed shift dress Zara with red Rebecca Minkoff saddle bag
Necklace: gifted ZuriCollections blue polymer clay necklace
Dress: Zara printed bib front tunic dress
ShoesWittner 'Jasmarie' studded sandals
Bracelets: the usual plus Lovisa rose gold beaded bracelet stack
BagRebecca Minkoff unlined saddle bag in cherry red (on sale in blue!)

Why I wore it:

While I'd had this in mind to wear to a new year's dinner, I changed my mind at the last moment and went with another outfit. I'd really liked the navy dress with red bag combo above though, so wanted to wear it again. It's not the first time I've worn this Zara dress with a red bag (see here and here) but it's the first time I've worn this saddle bag with the dress. Just like the outfit above, I really liked this combination.

Wore this for a busy day with hubby. We both had the day off and the boys were in daycare so we ran around running a few errands and getting things done. While this dress isn't that short, it feels that way when I'm rushing around with the kids and bending down every few minutes, so I try wear it on days I'm not spending all my time with the boys. Just as nice for going out for dinner as it is for a kid-free day of errands.


Last wornnavy printed shift dress, studded sandals, red saddle bag (above).

Other ways to wear: navy printed shift dress and denim jacket, studded sandals and embroidered shortsred saddle bag and maxi skirt.

Perfect for pregnancynavy printed shift dress in third trimester, studded sandals and maternity shorts.



Navy Printed Dresses Under $50:







How You Can Wear It:

Navy printed dresses are so easy to accessorise. If you're unsure what colour of bag to chose, you could pick a colour from the print like I did in the first outfit. Or you could just pick a bright pop of colour that doesn't match with the print like I did in the second outfit. Red and blue are such a nice colour combination, you can't go wrong with a red bag and navy dress.



Linking up with Friday Faves, Lizzie In Lace, Shoe & Tell, Modest Monday.



Follow Away From the Blue on:
Bloglovin
Twitter : Instagram Youtube : Facebook : Google Plus : LikeToKnow.It 

Wednesday, 24 January 2018

Shein White Crochet Trim Kimono, Monochrome Printed Shorts Outfits

A while back Shein asked me to pick a few pieces for another collaboration. I picked out a navy swing dress as well as this white crochet trim kimono. I love my printed kimono collection, but wanted something a little more plain to pair with some of my printed shorts for summer.

What I wore:

Shein white crochet kimono with grey tank black Jeanswest parker printed shorts monochrome summer outfit LV neverfull | away from blue

jeanswest parker printed shorts, Louis Vuitton MM damier azur neverfull | away from the blue

awayfromblue instagram monochrome printed shorts summer outfit with Shein lace trimmed crochet inset white kimono


awayfromblue instagram detail shot of Shein lace trimmed crochet inset white kimono
Necklace: Lovisa gold filigree heart pendant
TankCotton On 'eternity' tank in charcoal marle
ShortsJeanswest Parker printed shirred short
ShoesWittner 'Jasmarie' studded sandals
Bracelets: the usual Lovisa rose gold beaded bracelet stack
BagLouis Vuitton MM damier azur neverfull

Why I wore it:

This was supposed to be a quiet day at home with the boys, but ended up with us getting their grandparents to babysit at the last moment as I had to go into the city with hubby in the morning. I am so very thankful that we live nearby to our parents, they help us so much.

I took the chance to wear a proper necklace instead of a teething one for a change! The rose gold heart matches nicely to my rose gold bracelet stack. The first time I wore these shorts I paired them with a bright tank, but when I bought them I was thinking about wearing them with greys for a monochromatic kind of outfit. I've worn the shorts with grey tees before, but I really liked this fitted grey tank. Even if it took me a while to accept my post baby bulge in tight clothes at first!

First time I've worn this kimono, so I thought I'd share my thoughts on it. As mentioned above, it came free from Shein. It actually arrived super quickly via courier, which I wasn't expecting. It did however arrive completely crushed, as expected! Nothing a quick wash and couldn't sort out. This kimono is an air-dry only one, no ironing needed, which is a bonus. Threw it in the washing machine and left it to air dry.

In terms of quality, it had a couple of loose threads I had to cut before I wore it, but no more have appeared since, even after the wash. I like the crochet detail, it was quite popular on Instagram too. The pretty detail on the back is definitely the best thing about it, I don't have any kimonos like that. Even with the detail on the back and the crochet trim, it's so easy to wear as it's a neutral white that goes with everything. Great if you have printed shorts like these that might be tricky to pair with printed kimonos. Pleased to have added it to my summer wardrobe.


Last worn: grey tank, Parker printed shorts, studded sandals, Louis Vuitton neverfull. First time I've worn the kimono as it's a new arrival.

Other ways to weargrey tank and Paisley skirt, Parker printed shorts and turquoise tank, studded sandals and little black dress, Louis Vuitton neverfull at the beach.

Perfect for pregnancy: grey tank in third trimester, studded sandals in second trimester, Louis Vuitton neverfull at 38 weeks.



Printed Shorts Under $50:







What I wore:

shein crochet trim white kimono with monochrome navy printed shorts outfit Rebecca Minkoff love bag | awayfromblue

Roie Designs black leather Swarovski beaded wrap bracelet stack, Rebecca Minkoff Love cross body bag in grey | awayfromtheblue

awayfromblue instagram navy monochrome printed shorts outfit white kimono RM love bag
JacketShein lace trimmed crochet inset white kimono C/O
NecklaceNibbly Bits Abacus teething necklace in pop
Tank: Kmart navy ribbed tank
ShortsJeanswest 'Scarlette' printed shorts
Shoesblack slim Havaianas thongs
Bracelets: the usual plus Roie Designs black leather Swarovski beaded wrap bracelet
BagRebecca Minkoff Love cross body bag in grey with Rebecca Minkoff Crystal Star Shoulder Guitar strap

Why I wore it:

Squinting like crazy in these pics! I'd gotten excited when the sun was behind a cloud, setup the camera and tripod and then just as I went to take the pics the sun popped out again, ha!

As the previous day (above) hadn't gone according to plan, we fitted more Christmas fun into this day. We spend the morning in the pool as it was so hot, and then baked some Christmas tree brownies in the afternoon, before taking a walk around the local Christmas lights in the evening. It feels strange to be writing about Christmas so close to the end of January, but I've been so behind with blogging pics!

I've worn the navy tank and printed shorts together before, it's a combination I really like. With the white in the print on the shorts I thought the white kimono was a good layer to tie it all together really nicely.


Last worn: crochet trim kimono (above), navy tank, printed shorts, Havaianas, Rebecca Minkoff guitar strap, Rebecca Minkoff Love bag.

Other ways to wearnavy tank and yellow accessories, printed shorts and floral kimono, Rebecca Minkoff guitar strap and red and Green Christmas outfit, Rebecca Minkoff Love bag and maxi dress.

Perfect for pregnancyRebecca Minkoff Love bag in second trimester.



White Kimonos Under $50:






How You Can Wear It:


A kimono is a fun light layer to add to summer outfits, to get the benefits of a complete piece on your outfit without overheating. If you have a lot of printed pieces in your wardrobe, consider a block colour kimono in a neutral shade like this white one. It doesn't have to be boring though, even with a neutral colour you can get fun details like lace, crochet or tseels to add a little more interest to your kimono and outfit.




Did You Know: I have a YouTube Channel! Full of pregnancy style ideas, handbag reviews and ways to wear inspo, along with a lot of what's in my bag videos: Away From The Blue YouTube.


Linking up with Oh Hey Girl, Style on the Daily, What I Wore, Fashion Files, Fun Fashion, Weekend Wear, Flashback Fashion, Fabulous Friday, Passion for Fashion.


Follow Away From the Blue on:
Bloglovin
Twitter : Instagram Youtube : Facebook : Google Plus : LikeToKnow.It 

Friday, 22 December 2017

Print Mixing: Floral Kimono With Stripes and Polka Dots Foil Print Tees

I love this floral kimono, and I've been wearing it a little more than usual lately to meet a challenge I set myself at the start of the year to wear more pieces in my wardrobe 30 times.

As I recently got two new foil print tees, I took the chance to wear it with them for a little bit of print mixing: floral with stripes and polka dots. It helped me hit 30 wears of the kimono too!



What I wore:

Somedays Lovin Yakuza print kimono mixing stripe foil jeanswest tee denim shorts | away from the blue

denim shorts, Rebecca Minkoff Love cross body bag in grey with silver hardware | away from the blue

awayfromblue instagram summer shorts outfit print mixing foil stripe tee floral kimono
JacketSomedays Lovin' Yakuza print kimono
TeeJeanswest Anika foil stripe tee in white and silver
ShortsJeanswest Sara distressed hot short
ShoesWittner 'Jasmarie' studded sandals
BagRebecca Minkoff Love cross body bag in grey

Why I wore it:

I've worn this floral kimono with stripes before - stripes are my go-to for print mixing as they really go with everything! When I got this striped tee in the Jeanswest sale I knew I'd wear it with this kimono, i think the grey of the kimono and the silver foil stripes go together nicely. With the busy print mixing on top, I stuck with a neutral pair of shorts on the bottom - another Jeanswest sale purchase! I continued on the grey and silver theme with the grey Rebecca Minkoff love bag with silver hardware. I really liked how this outfit came together, perfect for a quiet Saturday running a few errands.


Last worn: floral kimono, black denim shorts, studded sandals, Rebecca Minkoff Love bag. First time I've worn the striped tee on the blog as it's a recent purchase.

Other ways to wearfloral kimono worn 30 ways, stripe tee, black denim shorts and burgundy tee, studded sandals and denim shorts, Rebecca Minkoff Love bag and boho dress.

Perfect for pregnancy: kimono and maxi skirt in second trimesterstudded sandals in second trimester, Rebecca Minkoff Love bag in third trimester.



Floral Kimonos Under $50:








What I wore:

print mixing summer outfit polka dot gold foil tee floral kimono Rebecca Minkoff micro Regan | awayfromblue

Rebecca Minkoff micro Regan satchel in Harvest Gold | awayfromtheblue

awayfromblue instagram print mixing polka dot navy foil tee black shorts floral kimono
JacketSomedays Lovin' Yakuza print kimono
Necklace: Nibbly Bits Abacus teething necklace in pop
TeeJeanswest Flavia foil printed polka dot tee deep iris
ShortsJeanswest Sara distressed hot short
Shoesslim gold Havaianas
BagRebecca Minkoff micro Regan satchel in Harvest Gold
NailsOPI Fire Escape Rendezvous

Why I wore it:

Once again I'm realising I've worn this tee to my Australian Breastfeeding Association group - it gets worn there quite a lot, haha! I wore this to a topic I'd really been looking forward to - we had a first aid presentation from St John's ambulance. When Toddler T was little, I'd gone to a first aid course for babies and felt quite confident with everything baby first aid related.
A few months ago, when Baby Boy fell ill, everything went out the window and I panicked. I barely remembered what to do and had to ask the 000 operator to tell me each step to do as my mind was blank. Instinct kicked in and I did a few things but couldn't remember what to do next, it was scary. It wasn't until we were out of the ambulance and in the hospital when we were asked if we had done a first aid course that it all came flooding back to me, and I started remembering what we'd been taught.

I asked the presenter to cover the topic again for me and it was nice to know I'd done the right thing calling the ambulance. I picked up some other useful tips and advice from her too, that I hope I'll never have to put into practice!

Outfit-wise, I thought the polka dots and floral print was something very different for me. I don't have a lot of polka dot pieces in my wardrobe. Really liked this combo though - I think the gold foil polka dots on the tee work just as well with the floral kimono as the silver stripes on the tee above. And the mustard yellow micro Regan bag is a nice combination with the yellow on the kimono as well as the navy tee. I've worn this tee and bag together before.

I usually do a purchase review after wearing everything I buy twice. The goal is to learn what works and doesn't in my wardrobe, so I make wiser purchasing decisions in the future.

I love these shorts (even if this is the fourth wear, I forgot to do the review earlier). I already had a couple pairs of black shorts, but I got rid of them as I was worried they were too short. These are still short shorts, but slightly longer than the ones I had before, and still just as comfortable (perhaps even more so!). A classic pair of black shorts is essential for Brisbane summers, I'm really pleased I bought these, and thankful for the Christmas gift card I used to buy them!


Last worn: floral kimono (above), polka dot tee, black denim shorts (above), gold Havaianas, Rebecca Minkoff micro Regan bag.

Other ways to wearfloral kimono and chambray dress, polka dot tee and mustard cardigan, black denim shorts and a dress, gold Havaianas, Rebecca Minkoff micro Regan bag worn 30 ways.

Perfect for pregnancy: floral kimono and maternity shorts.




Foil Print Tees Under $50:








How You Can Wear It:


You don't have to stick with neutral basic pieces when wearing colourful printed kimonos. Stripes and polka dots are fun to try print mixing with. If you're unsure, picking similarly coloured pieces like the silver stripes and grey kimono is a good way to go, and keeping it simple with just two prints and having the rest of your outfit plain makes it easy. The benefit of having one of your pieces being a printed kimono is that if you are unsure when leaving the house and later change your mind, you can easily take that layer off!


Linking up with Fabulous Friday, Fab Favourites, Trend Spin.


I hope that you have a very merry Christmas and enjoy spending time with your friends and family on Monday as we reflect on the greatest gift of all, God sending Jesus.


Follow Away From the Blue on:
Bloglovin
Twitter : Instagram Youtube : Facebook : Google Plus : LikeToKnow.It